Our website uses cookies and similar technologies. If you click on "Accept", you allow us to store all types of cookies. You can adjust your personal settings by clicking on "Preferences". You can revoke or change your given consent at any time. For more information about our data processing please visit our Privacy Statement. If you have any further questions, please contact info@mtf-technik.de.

Preferences Accept

Please select your cookie settings

Advisor for Clean Room, Medical Technology, Food

Typical Problems:

  • Conveyor technology has to comply to clean room conditions
  • Parts that come into contact with the product have to be conform to FDA / EU regulations
  • Avoidance of contamination of the conveyed goods with dirt
  • Reduction of abrasion and wear of the conveyor technology

Solutions from MTF Technik:

For over 45 years, MTF Technik has been supplying many manufacturers of medical technology articles worldwide with conveyor technology, separation systems and automation solutions. Here, thousands of devices have been tested in continuous use, some for decades. Even if each task has its individual requirements, there are some solutions, which are generally recommended:

  • Use of FDA-compliant / EU-approved belts
  • Parts in contact with the product are made of stainless steel
  • Use of smooth-body motors and drum motors
  • Covers as protection against contamination
  • Tapered rollers and space for the belt to prevent abrasion
  • Easy-to-clean construction
  • Integration of ionisation devices
MTF Technik - FDA-compliant / EU-approved belts

FDA-compliant / EU-approved belts

An essential requirement in connection with cleanroom or medical technology as well as foodstuffs are belts that have FDA approval or EU conformity. Components that have direct contact with the material being conveyed must meet the strictest quality requirements with regard to the materials used. Behind this is essentially the requirement to control and limit the possible transfer of substances contained in the belt to the material being conveyed in order to exclude contamination and damage.

For this purpose, MTF Technik offers a wide range of different belt materials with various surfaces and colours. In the food sector, blue belts are very popular, as contamination is usually easily visible on them. Spores, mould and food residues are usually easier to detect on blue belts than on materials of other colours. In the medical technology sector, white belts are often used, but blue, petrol and green are also used depending on customer requirements.

In terms of materials, PU materials with a smooth and hard surface are usually the best choice. These can be easily cleaned - e.g. simply with warm water or with isopropanol, etc. The surfaces are accordingly resistant to these common cleaning agents.

For special applications, FDA-approved PVC or silicone belts are also used (e.g. for very high product temperatures or if a certain degree of entrainment must be ensured).

MTF Technik - Parts in contact with the product made of stainless steel

Parts in contact with the product made of stainless steel

If packaged food or e.g. medical-technical packaging articles (syringe bodies, tablet tubes, etc.) are transported on a conveyor belt, it is often sufficient to manufacture the product-contacting parts e.g. from anodised aluminium.

In the case of unpackaged foodstuffs or other pharmaceutical or medical-technical articles, on the other hand, there is often a requirement for parts in contact with the product to be made of stainless steel. This applies, for example, to side guides, corrugated edge covers, etc. Depending on the customer's requirements, we can provide material certificates for these parts. The photo shows a conveyor belt with stainless steel mesh belt.

In order to create completely smooth surfaces, stainless steel coverings are also welded flush and grounded smoothly on the surfaces if required. Stud bolts at the rear side do the fastening, so that the conveyed product cannot be damaged and there will be no dirt zones.

MTF Technik - Parts in contact with the product made of stainless steel 2

It is not only conveyor belts that require stainless steel surfaces that come into contact with the product; we also offer corresponding solutions for other products in the MTF Technik range. For example, we manufacture our reject chutes completely from stainless steel. On request, clear covers, e.g. made of PET, can of course also be integrated to enable visual checks of the production process at any time.

MTF reject chutes are available in many different designs - as 2-way chutes or as 3-way reject chute, with a classic flap mechanism or also with MTF's patented rotary shaft design. This technology offers the great advantage that there are no gaps in the area of the switch mechanism. This ensures that no small components can get jammed laterally between the housing and the change-over flap. The occurrence of abrasion is also effectively prevented, as the rotary shaft mechanism is mounted on ball bearings and cannot rub against the housing.

MTF Technik - Smooth-Body Motors and Drum Motors

Smooth-Body Motors and Drum Motors

In a cleanroom environment it is important that the devices are easy to be cleaned. Therefore, standard motors with their cooling fins and niches on the surface are often counterproductive. Ambient dust collects in these niches and is difficult to be removed.

Likewise, most motors have fans that are supposed to cool the motor. In some applications, however, this can disrupt the laminar air flow and creates unintended turbulence in the ambient air.

For these applications, MTF offers smooth-body motors. These have smooth outer surfaces, making them easier to clean. In the hollow shaft motor version, this can be directly mounted onto the drive shaft. Therefore ther is no need for a chain drive and the associated lubrication work.

MTF Technik - Smooth-Body Motors and Drum Motors 2

The integration of motor and gearbox into the drive roller is the smoothest solution. This is usually our recommended motor type for conveyor belts in cleanroom conditions. The main advantage is that the drive is virtually invisible. Only the cable exit of the motor is led out of the conveyor belt body.

This means that due to even fewer interfering contours, the smooth surfaces of the guide profile can be cleaned quickly and easily if necessary. There is no air turbulence due to the cooling of the motor as well, as it emits its heat via the belt.

MTF Technik - Covers for enclosing the conveying area

Covers for enclosing the conveying area

To prevent parts getting dirty by the environment during transport, conveyors are often equipped with covers. These can be made of different materials - e.g. aluminium, stainless steel, PET, macrolon, etc. - and in different designs - e.g. plug-in, hinged, fixed, with handle, without handle, etc.

Functional aspects play a role in determining the exact design. For example, collision points with existing interfering contours due to machine geometries must be taken into account as well as the behaviour of the conveyed goods. For example, can products accumulate in the conveying process and thus become jammed under a cover, etc.?

MTF Technik - Covers for enclosing the conveying area 2

Various factors have to be considered when selecting the material. For example, the possibility to control the process naturally speaks in favour of clear covers, but depending on the material, these can become "blind" over time - e.g. through cleaning or contact with the material being conveyed - or the material may attract dust.

In addition, there is always the requirement that components that are manufactured outside the actual cleanroom using a filter module on the production machine must be transported into the cleanroom through encapsulated conveyor sections.

For this purpose, the profiles of the MTF Technik conveyor belts can be completely enclosed at the belt infeed. By means of covers above and below, a completely encapsulated conveyor section can be realised. This saves valuable cleanroom space and thus reduces costs considerably. enclosed conveyor sections in buffer systems can also be realised in this way.

MTF Technik - Abrasion prevention through belt centring

Abrasion prevention through belt centring

There are different methods to realise the straight tracking of a flexible plastic belt on a conveyor. MTF Technik has always preferred belt centring by means of conically rotated drive and deflexion rollers. The conicity of the rollers achieves a certain self-centring effect of the belt - the belt tends to run to the highest point in each case - i.e. to the centre of the belt.

In contrast to forced guides, e.g. guiding rails or profiles attached directly to the side of the belt or so-called wedge guides, the guidance by conical rollers works without contact between the moving belt and the fixed frame.

The belt can run flexibly and is adjusted to have sufficient space to each boundary. Thus, abrasion is consistently avoided.

MTF Technik - Easy-to-clean construction

Easy-to-clean construction

In cleanrooms, it is very important that all surfaces are designed to be as easy to clean as possible and that all areas are as easily accessible as possible. For thip purpose, MTF Technik offers aluminium profiles with anodised surfaces that have a lot of know-how in detail, e.g. the lateral sealing strip profiles are attached to the guiding profile by means of a clip mechanism.

This allows us to easily adapt to different belt thicknesses and to enlarge the gap between the fixed profile and the moving belt as far as possible and as small as necessary. In clean room applications, we try to achieve the largest possible gap between the belt and the side guide or sealing strip to prevent contact and thus abrasion. The extent to which this is possible, however, depends on the conveyed material, because the components must not get stuck within the gap.

The clip mechanism means that no screws are required for fastening in the area that comes into contact with the product. This results in completely smooth surfaces that are easy to clean. At the same time, the elimination of screws also prevents the formation of butt edges where components could be damaged.

The sealing strips are also provided with a slight slope of about 6°, resulting in an upward-opening geometry between the cleats and the sealing strip. This avoids jamming and looping effects of components in this area.

MTF Technik - Integration of ionisation devices

Integration of ionisation devices

Especially in the plastics industy, static charging of the components is a common problem. In addition to a possible danger of electric shock for employees, the charges have the negative side effect, especially in clean rooms, of attracting dust.

To prevent this, the components must be discharged. MTF Technik uses various ionisation units from different manufacturers for this purpose, depending on the application. The units are then usually mounted on belt covers or transfer bonnets in order to impinge the conveyed material with ionised air accordingly.

Further details on this topic can also be found in our Advisor for Static Charging Problems

Further application examples for cleanrooms are presented in our chapter Industry solutions

Unsere Website verwendet Cookies und ähnliche Technologien. Mit einem Klick auf „Zustimmen“ erlauben Sie uns alle Cookie-Arten zu speichern. Mit einem Klick auf „Einstellungen“ können Sie Cookies auf Ihre Bedürfnisse anpassen. Ihre erteilte Einwilligung können Sie jederzeit ändern. Weitere Informationen dazu finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung. Bei weiteren Fragen können Sie sich an info@mtf-technik.de wenden.

Einstellungen Zustimmen

Bitte wählen Sie Ihre Cookie-Einstellungen

Problemlösung: Reinraum - Medizintechnik - Nahrungsmittel

Problemstellungen:

  • Fördertechnik muss unter Reinraumbedingungen eingesetzt werden
  • Produktberührende Teile müssen FDA-konform / EU-konform ausgeführt werden
  • Vermeidung von Kontamination des Fördergutes mit Verschmutzung
  • Reduzierung von Abrieb und Verschleiß der Fördertechnik

Problemlösungen von MTF Technik:

Bereits seit über 45 Jahren beliefert MTF Technik viele Hersteller medizintechnischer Artikel weltweit mit Fördertechnik, Separiersystemen und Automationslösungen. Hier sind tausende Geräte teilweise seit Jahrzehnten im Dauereinsatz erprobt. Auch wenn jede Aufgabenstellung wieder neu ist, so hat sich doch eine ganze Reihe an Lösungsansätzen für diese speziellen Branchen herauskristallisiert.

  • Einsatz von FDA-konformen / EU-konformen Fördergurten
  • Produktberührende Teile aus Edelstahl gefertigt
  • Nutzung von Glattmantelmotoren und Trommelmotoren
  • Abdeckungen als Schutz vor Verschmutzung
  • Konisch gedrehte Rollen und Platz für den Gurt zur Vermeidung von Abrieb
  • Reinigungsfreundliche Konstruktion
  • Integration von Ionisationsgeräten
MTF Technik - FDA-konforme / EU-konforme Fördergurte

FDA-konforme / EU-konforme Fördergurte

Eine wesentliche Forderung im Zusammenhang mit Reinraum- oder Medizintechnik sowie Lebensmitteln sind Gurte, die über eine FDA-Zulassung bzw. EU-Konformität verfügen. Komponenten, die direkten Kontakt zum Fördergut haben, müssen strengste Qualitätsanforderungen hinsichtlich der verwendeten Werkstoffe erfüllen. Dahinter steckt im Wesentlichen die Forderung, eine mögliche Übertragung von Inhaltsstoffen des Gurtes auf das Fördergut zu kontrollieren und zu begrenzen, um Verunreinigungen und Schäden auszuschließen.

MTF Technik bietet hierfür eine Vielzahl verschiedener Laufdecken aus unterschiedlichen Materialien, mit diversen Oberflächen und Farben an. Im Lebensmittelbereich setzen sich blaue Gurte sehr stark durch, da hierauf i.d.R. Verunreinigungen gut sichtbar sind. Sporen, Schimmel und Rückstände von Lebensmitteln sind auf blauen Gurten i.d.R. besser erkennbar als bei andersfarbigen Werkstoffen. Im Medizintechnikbereich werden oftmals weiße Gurte eingesetzt, aber auch blau, petrol und grün werden je nach Kundenwunsch verwendet.

Hinsichtlich der Materialien bieten sich in der Regel PU-Werkstoffe mit einer glatten und harten Oberfläche an. Diese können leicht gereinigt werden – z.B. einfach mit warmem Wasser oder mit Isopropanol, etc. Die Oberflächen sind entsprechend gegen diese üblichen Reinigungsmittel beständig.

Bei speziellen Anwendungsfällen kommen darüber hinaus auch FDA-zugelassene PVC- oder Silikongurte zum Einsatz (z.B. bei sehr hohen Produkttemperaturen oder wenn eine gewisse Mitnahmefähigkeit gewährleistet werden muss).

MTF Technik - Produktberührende Teile aus Edelstahl

Produktberührende Teile aus Edelstahl

Werden verpackte Lebensmittel oder z.B. medizintechnische Verpackungsartikel (Spritzenkörper, Tablettenröhrchen, etc.) auf einem Förderband transportiert, ist es oftmals ausreichend, die produktberührenden Teile z.B. aus eloxiertem Aluminium zu fertigen.

Bei unverpackten Lebensmitteln oder sonstigen pharmazeutischen oder medizintechnischen Artikeln hingegen gibt es häufig die Forderung nach produktberührenden Teilen aus Edelstahl. Dies betrifft z.B. Seitenführungen, Wellkantenabdeckungen, etc. Je nach Kundenanforderung können für diese Teile dann auch Materialzeugnisse bereitgestellt werden. Im Beispielfoto sehen Sie ein Förderband mit Edelstahlgewebegurt.

Um komplett glatte Flächen zu erzeugen, werden Edelstahlverkleidungen bei Bedarf auch an den produktberührenden Flächen flächenbündig verschweißt und glatt geschliffen. Die Befestigung erfolgt dann mittels Stehbolzen von der Rückseite, so dass das Fördergut nicht beschädigt werden kann und auch keine kleinen Schmutzzonen, z.B. in den Schraubenköpfen, entstehen.

MTF Technik - Produktberührende Teile aus Edelstahl 2

Nicht nur bei Förderbändern besteht die Forderung nach produktberührenden Oberflächen aus Edelstahl auch bei anderen Produkten aus dem Programm von MTF Technik bieten wir entsprechende Lösungen. So fertigen wir beispielsweise unsere Ausfallweichen komplett aus Edelstahl. Auf Wunsch können natürlich auch klarsichtige Abdeckungen, z.B. aus PET, integriert werden, um jederzeit visuelle Kontrollen des Produktionsprozesses zu ermöglichen.

Die Ausfallweichen von MTF Technik können in vielen verschiedenen Ausführungen angeboten werden – als 2-Wege Weiche oder als 3-Wege Weiche, mit klassischem Klappenmechanismus oder aber auch mit der von MTF Technik patentierten Drehschachtausführung. Diese Technik bietet den großen Vorteil, dass es im Bereich des Umschaltmechanismus keinerlei Spalte gibt. Dies verhindert sicher, dass sich keine kleinen Bauteile seitlich zwischen Gehäuse und Umschaltklappe verklemmen können. Auch die Entstehung von Abrieb wird wirkungsvoll verhindert, da der Drehschachtmechanismus kugelgelagert ist und nicht am Gehäuse reiben kann.

MTF Technik - Glattmantelmotoren und Trommelmotoren

Glattmantelmotoren und Trommelmotoren

In einer Reinraumumgebung spielen Faktoren wie Reinigungsfreundlichkeit eine große Rolle. Insbesondere standardmäßige Motoren mit Ihren Kühlrippen und den damit verbundenen kleinen Nischen sind dabei oftmals kontraproduktiv. Hierin sammelt sich Umgebungsstaub, der sich nur aufwendig entfernen lässt.

Ebenso verfügen die meisten Motoren über Lüfter, welche den Motor kühlen sollen. In einigen Anwendungen kann dies jedoch die laminare Luftströmung stören und sorgt für unerwünschte Verwirbelungen der Umgebungsluft.

Für diese Anwendungen bietet MTF Technik Glattmantelmotoren an. Diese verfügen über glatte Außenflächen und können so einfacher gereinigt werden. In der Ausführung als Hohlwellenmotor kann dieser sofort auf die Antriebswelle aufgesteckt werden. Ein Kettenantrieb und damit notwendige Schmierarbeiten kann so entfallen.

MTF Technik - Glattmantelmotoren und Trommelmotoren2

Noch eleganter ist die Integration von Motor und Getriebe in die Antriebsrolle. Dies ist üblicherweise die Empfehlung von MTF Technik für die Antriebe von Förderbändern unter Reinraumbedingungen. Der Vorteil liegt vor allen Dingen daran, dass vom eigentlichen Antrieb quasi gar nichts mehr zu sehen ist. Lediglich der Kabelausgang des Motors wird aus dem Förderbandkörper herausgeführt.

So gibt es noch weniger Störkonturen und die glatten Oberflächen des Leitprofils können bei Bedarf schnell und einfach gereinigt werden. Auch hier gibt es keinerlei Luftverwirbelungen durch die Kühlung des Motors, da dieser seine Wärme über den Gurt abgibt.

MTF Technik - Abdeckungen zur Kapselung der Transportstrecke

Abdeckungen zur Kapselung der Transportstrecke

Um zu verhindern, dass Bauteile auf dem Transportweg durch Umgebungseinflüsse verschmutzen, werden die Förderbänder oftmals mit Abdeckungen ausgestattet. Diese können aus verschiedenen Materialien – z.B. Aluminium, Edelstahl, PET, Macrolon, etc. – und in verschiedenen Ausführungen – z.B. steckbar, klappbar, fest, mit Griff, ohne Griff, etc. – ausgeführt werden.

Bei der exakten Festlegung der Ausführung spielen funktionelle Aspekte eine Rolle. So müssen Kollisionspunkte mit vorhandenen Störkonturen durch Maschinengeometrien ebenso berücksichtigt werden wie das Verhalten des Fördergutes. Können sich z.B. Produkte im Förderprozess aufstauen und so unter einer Abdeckung verklemmen, etc.?

MTF Technik - Abdeckungen zur Kapselung der Transportstrecke2

Bei der Materialauswahl sind verschiedene Faktoren zu prüfen. So spricht z.B. natürlich die Kontrollmöglichkeit des Prozesses für klarsichtige Abdeckungen, jedoch können diese – je nach Material mit der Zeit – z.B. durch Reinigung oder Kontakt mit dem Fördergut – „blind“ werden oder Staub anziehen.
Darüber hinaus existiert immer wieder die Anforderung, dass Bauteile, die außerhalb des eigentlichen Reinraums unter Verwendung eines Filtermoduls auf der Produktionsmaschine hergestellt werden, durch gekapselte Förderstrecken in den Reinraum transportiert werden müssen.

Hierzu können die Profile der MTF Technik Förderbänder am Bandeinlauf komplett geschlossen werden. Durch Abdeckungen oberhalb und unterhalb kann so eine komplett gekapselte Förderstrecke realisiert werden. Dies spart kostbare Reinraumfläche und senkt somit die Kosten erheblich.

Auch gekapselte Transportstrecken in Pufferanlagen können so realisiert werden.

MTF Technik - Abriebvermeidung durch Gurtzentrierung

Abriebvermeidung durch Gurtzentrierung

Es gibt unterschiedliche Verfahren, um den Geradelauf eines flexiblen Kunststoffgurtes auf einem Förderband zu realisieren. MTF Technik präferiert seit jeher eine Gurtzentrierung mittels konisch gedrehter Antriebs- und Umlenkrollen. Die Konizität der Rollen erzielt einen gewissen Selbstzentrierungseffekt des Gurtes – der Gurt tendiert dazu, jeweils auf den höchsten Punkt zu laufen – also in die Bandmitte.

Im Gegensatz zu Zwangsführungen, wie z.B. durch seitlich direkt in Gurtnähe angebrachte Führungsleisten bzw. Profile oder durch so genannte Keilleistenführungen, arbeitet die Führung durch konische Rollen ohne Kontakt zwischen beweglichem Gurt und feststehendem Rahmengestell.

Der Gurt kann frei laufen und wird so eingestellt, dass er zu jeder Seitenbegrenzung ausreichend Platz hat. Somit wird konsequent Abrieb vermieden.

MTF Technik - Reinigungsfreundliche Konstruktion

Reinigungsfreundliche Konstruktion

In Reinräumen wird höchster Wert darauf gelegt, dass sämtliche Flächen möglichst reinigungsfreundlich ausgeführt und alle Bereiche möglichst einfach zugänglich sind. MTF Technik bietet hier Aluminiumprofile mit eloxierten Oberflächen an, die im Detail über viel Know-How verfügen. So sind z.B. die seitlichen Dichtleistenprofile mittels eines Clip-Mechanismus am eigentlichen Leitprofil befestigt.

Somit können wir uns auf unterschiedliche Laufdeckenstärken einfach anpassen und den Spalt zwischen feststehendem Profil und beweglichem Gurt so groß wie möglich oder so gering wie nötig gestalten. Bei Reinraumanwendungen versuchen wir, einen möglichst großen Spalt zwischen Gurt und Seitenführung bzw. Dichtleiste zu realisieren, damit es nicht zu Kontakt und somit zu Abrieb kommt. Inwieweit dies möglich ist, hängt allerdings auch vom Fördergut ab, denn natürlich dürfen sich auch keine Bauteile in den Spalt schieben.

Der Clip-Mechanismus ermöglicht, dass für die Befestigung im produktberührenden Bereich keinerlei Schrauben notwendig sind. Somit ergeben sich komplett glatte Oberflächen, die einfach zu reinigen sind. Der Entfall von Schrauben verhindert gleichzeitig auch die Entstehung von Stoßkanten, an denen Bauteile beschädigt werden könnten.

Die Dichtleisten sind darüber hinaus noch mit einer leichten Schräge von etwa 6° versehen, so dass sich zwischen Mitnehmerstollen und Dichtleiste eine nach oben öffnende Geometrie ergibt. Dies vermeidet Klemm- und Schleifeffekte von Bauteilen in diesem Bereich.

MTF Technik - Integration von Ionisationsgeräten

Integration von Ionisationsgeräten

Gerade in der Kunststoffteilefertigung kommt es immer wieder zu statischen Aufladungen der Bauteile. Neben einer möglichen Gefährdung der Mitarbeiter durch einen Stromschlag haben die Aufladungen gerade in Reinräumen den negativen Nebeneffekt, dass dadurch Staub angezogen wird.

Um dies zu verhindern, müssen die Bauteile entladen werden. MTF Technik setzt hierzu je nach Anwendungsfall unterschiedliche Ionisationsgeräte von verschiedenen Herstellern ein. Die Geräte werden dann üblicherweise auf Bandabdeckungen oder Übergabehauben montiert, um das Fördergut entsprechend mit ionisierter Luft zu beaufschlagen.

Weitere Details zu diesem Thema finden Sie auch in unserem Ratgeber zum Thema „Statische Aufladung“

Weitere Praxis-Anwendungsbeispiele zum Thema Reinraum finden Sie auch unter unseren Branchenlösungen