Our website uses cookies and similar technologies. If you click on "Accept", you allow us to store all types of cookies. You can adjust your personal settings by clicking on "Preferences". You can revoke or change your given consent at any time. For more information about our data processing please visit our Privacy Statement. If you have any further questions, please contact info@mtf-technik.de.

Preferences Accept

Please select your cookie settings

Typical Problems:

  • Plastics usually have a high electrical insulation resistance and can therefore become electrostatically charged.
  • The components attract dust and dirt and thus influence the product quality.
  • Electronic components that are transported on a conveyor belt can be damaged by static charging of the belt.
  • Highest cleanliness is required for applications in medical technology
  • High electrostatic charges on components can lead to spontaneous discharges and damage components on a conveyor belt (e.g. bearings in rollers)
  • High electrostatic charges on conveyed goods or machine parts can lead to life-threatening electric shocks
  • Fire and explosion hazard in case of accidental discharge
  • Conveyed material sticks to the belt and goes on a "merry-go-round".
  • Materials stick together and are difficult to process further

Solutions from MTF Technik:

All MTF devices are designed in such a way that they cannot become electrostatically charged through their own operation. Nevertheless, electrostatic charges can be transferred to the units by the material being conveyed or separated. To avoid the problems associated with this, MTF Technik offers various solutions:

MTF Technik - Ionisation Devices

Conveyor belt with steel mesh belt and bar ionisation unit with two fans

Ionisation Devices

Non-conductive materials (insulators) cannot be discharged by earthing. To neutralise the charges, e.g. on plastic components, air ionisation units on conveyor belts and separators are suitable. The ionisation units generate a large number of positively and negatively charged ions that serve as mobile charge carriers in the air. These ions are attracted to the electrically charged surfaces and particles, which then leads to neutralisation.

Ionisation units are available in different versions from different manufacturers. Which solution is used depends on various factors, e.g.:

  • Desired manufacturer of the ionising units according to customer specifications.
  • ype and quantity of parts to be discharged
  • Material speed
  • Ambient conditions
  • Area of application (on a conveyor belt, on a separator)
  • Working width
  • Working distance
    etc.
MTF Technik - Ionisation Devices 1

Separating Drum with Ionisation Bar

MTF Technik usually attaches the ionisation units to the conveyor belt on belt covers or in the area where the parts are discharged. Depending on the degree of electrostatic charging of the parts, it may also be necessary to attach several ionising units to the conveyor belt. This may be the case, for example, if plastic parts are fed onto the conveyor belt very hot. If the parts are then discharged directly at the feed point (e.g. also via an ionisation unit above the mould in an injection moulding machine), the parts are largely neutralised when they hit the conveyor belt. However, as a result of cooling during the conveying process, internal friction in the parts can create new charges which then have to be removed at the end of the conveyor belt.

Discharge bars can also be mounted in transfer bonnets or freely above a conveyor belt or also above a separating drum. Discharge bars can also be equipped with compressed air nozzles, which can then be controlled, for example, via corresponding pneumatic valves.

MTF Technik - Special Belt Types

Conductive threads in the fabric of the belt running side

Special Belt Types

There are many different types of belts made of different materials, such as PU, PVC, felt, polyester fabric, silicone, rubber, etc. The conveyor belts are usually made of different layers and often also have a fabric that serves as a backing layer. In most cases, the conveyor belts are made up of different layers and often also have a fabric that serves as a backing layer.

Most of the above-mentioned belt materials are insulators (e.g. PU, PVC), i.e. they do not dissipate any static charges. Nevertheless, many belts are described as "antistatic" by the manufacturers. This refers in each case to the running side of the belt, i.e. the inside, which is in contact with the conveyor belt. In this context, "antistatic" means that the running side of the belt is equipped with e.g. electrically conductive threads (usually carbon threads) and thus prevents the belt from charging itself by sliding over the belt body. Any charges generated by the slipping process are discharged directly via the aluminium frame of the conveyor belt.

MTF Technik - Special Belt Types 1

Comparison of surface resistance of MTF belt no. 44 (above) and MTF belt no. 45 with PU surface (below)

However, this says nothing about whether, for example, the surface of the belt, the so-called carrying side, also becomes charged over time due to the constant exposure to electrostatically charged conveyed material. This can lead to parts then "sticking" to the belt.

For special applications, such as the transport of highly sensitive circuit boards in the electrical industry or conveyor belt applications in potentially explosive atmospheres (ATEX), even higher demands must therefore be met in some cases. For this purpose, MTF Technik offers e.g. the Belt No. 44 This is a belt which, according to the manufacturer's data sheet, has a surface resistance of less than 3 ∙ 108 Ω and a contact resistance of less than 1 ∙ 109 Ω. According to EN 13463-1, it can be assumed that electrostatic charging is avoided if the surface resistance is less than or equal to 1 ∙ 109 Ω.

We can already illustrate the difference with an installation tester, for example. Even though electrostatic charges can easily amount to several tens of thousands of volts, a test with an installation tester and a voltage of max. 500V already shows clear differences. For example, we measured the surface of MTF Belt No. 44 and MTF Belt No. 45. In the case of Belt No. 44, a test voltage of 116 volts already produces a measurement result of 0.04 MΩ. In the case of Belt No. 45 (PU surface), no resistance can be measured despite a maximum test voltage of 535 V, i.e. this is an insulator. Even though the test setup in this form does not correspond to any standard, it nevertheless shows very clearly the difference in the conductive behaviour of different belt materials.

MTF Technik - Additional Earthing

Conveyor belt with ESD-compliant belt and wheels and earthing leads

Additional Earthing

Each device from MTF Technik is equipped with a standard-compliant earthing system. In most cases, this is realised by electrical connection cables and/or via additional earthing lugs. In case of special applications, e.g. transport of highly electrostatically charged plastic parts, additional earthing can help to dissipate the charges.

In order to remove unwanted charges from the carrying side of a belt, electrically conductive brushes can be used, for example, which are mounted at the belt infeed. These pick up any charges that may be sitting on the belt and carry them away so that a "neutral" belt is ready in the area of the parts feed. With each revolution of the belt, it is thus grounded again. Fibres made of carbon or stainless steel, for example, are used here.

MTF Technik - Additional Earthing 1

Separating Drum with Anti-Static Attachment

Statically charged separation material can also cause problems in separation drums. Here, there is a risk that the charges are transferred to the PVC rollers of a roller separation drum, for example.

In addition to the use of an ionisation bar above the separation drum cage (see above), a thin earthed stainless steel foil can also be placed on the rotating drum cage, for example. This is optionally offered by MTF Technik as a clip-on device for the underframe and can also be retrofitted to existing systems. The stainless steel foil then sweeps over the drum cage and discharges the charges.

MTF Technik - Steel Hinged Plate Conveyors and Wire Mesh conveyors

Wire Mesh Conveyor Type GS

Steel Hinged Plate Conveyors and Wire Mesh conveyors

The steel hinged plate belts as well as the steel mesh conveyor beltsfrom MTF Technik are perfectly suited to dissipate static charges on components due to their electrically conductive properties. The hinged plates are earthed accordingly via the contact to the belt body and the earthing of the drive.

However, the costs here are significantly higher than for a belt conveyor, so that belt conveyors with special accessories are more commonly used in practice.

Unsere Website verwendet Cookies und ähnliche Technologien. Mit einem Klick auf „Zustimmen“ erlauben Sie uns alle Cookie-Arten zu speichern. Mit einem Klick auf „Einstellungen“ können Sie Cookies auf Ihre Bedürfnisse anpassen. Ihre erteilte Einwilligung können Sie jederzeit ändern. Weitere Informationen dazu finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung. Bei weiteren Fragen können Sie sich an info@mtf-technik.de wenden.

Einstellungen Zustimmen

Bitte wählen Sie Ihre Cookie-Einstellungen

Problemlösung: Statische Aufladung

Problemstellungen:

  • Kunststoffe verfügen i.d.R. über einen hohen elektrischen Isolationswiderstand und können sich so elektrostatisch aufladen
  • Die Bauteile ziehen dadurch Staub und Schmutz an und beeinflussen damit die Produktqualität
  • Elektronische Bauteile, die auf einem Förderband transportiert werden, können durch statische Aufladung des Gurtes beschädigt werden
  • Bei Anwendungen in der Medizintechnik ist höchste Sauberkeit gefordert
  • Hohe elektrostatische Aufladungen an Bauteilen können zu Spontanentladungen führen und Bauteile an einem Förderband schädigen (z.B. Lager in Rollen)
  • Hohe elektrostatische Aufladungen an Fördergut oder Maschinenteilen können zu lebensgefährlichen Stromschlägen führen
  • Brand- und Explosionsgefahr bei unbeabsichtigter Entladung
  • Fördergut bleibt am Band haften und fährt „Karussell“
  • Materialien kleben zusammen und lassen sich schlecht weiterverarbeiten

Problemlösungen von MTF Technik:

Sämtliche MTF-Geräte sind grundsätzlich so ausgeführt, dass sie sich durch ihren eigenen Betrieb nicht elektrostatisch aufladen können. Dennoch können durch das Förder- oder Separiergut elektrostatische Aufladungen auf die Geräte übertragen werden. Um die damit verbundenen Problemstellungen zu vermeiden, bietet MTF Technik verschiedene Lösungsansätze:

MTF Technik - Ionisationsgeräte

Ionisationsgeräte

Nichtleitende Materialien (Isolatoren) können nicht durch Erdung entladen werden. Um die Ladungen z.B. an Kunststoffbauteilen zu neutralisieren, bieten sich Luftionisationsgeräte an Förderbändern und Separatoren an. Die Ionisationsgeräte erzeugen eine Vielzahl positiv und negativ geladener Ionen, die als bewegliche Ladungsträger in der Luft dienen. Diese Ionen werden von den elektrisch geladenen Oberflächen und Partikeln angezogen, was dann zu einer Neutralisation führt.

Ionisationsgeräte sind in unterschiedlichen Ausführungen von verschiedenen Herstellern verfügbar. Welche Lösung zum Einsatz kommt, hängt von verschiedenen Faktoren ab, z.B.:

  • Gewünschter Hersteller der Ionisationsgeräte nach Kundenvorgabe
  • Art und Menge der zu entladenden Teile
  • Materialgeschwindigkeit
  • Umgebungsbedingungen
  • Einsatzgebiet (auf einem Förderband, an einem Separiergerät)
  • Arbeitsbreite
  • Arbeitsabstand
    Etc.
MTF Technik - Ionisationsgeräte 1

Die Ionisationsgeräte werden von MTF Technik üblicherweise auf Bandabdeckungen oder im Bereich der Teileabgabe am Förderband befestigt. Je nach Grad der elektrostatischen Aufladung der Teile kann es auch notwendig sein, mehrere Ionisationsgeräte am Förderband zu befestigen. Dies kann z.B. dann der Fall sein, wenn Kunststoffteile sehr heiß auf das Förderband aufgegeben werden.

Werden die Teile dann direkt am Aufgabepunkt entladen (z.B. auch über eine Ionisationseinrichtung oberhalb des Werkzeugs in einer Spritzgussmaschine), so sind die Teile beim Auftreffen auf das Förderband weitestgehend neutralisiert. Durch Abkühlung während des Förderprozesses können durch innere Reibung in den Teilen allerdings neue Aufladungen entstehen, die dann am Förderbandende abgenommen werden müssen.

Auch können Entladungsstäbe in Übergabehauben oder frei über einem Förderband oder auch über einer Separiertrommel montiert werden. Entladungsstäbe können dabei zusätzlich mit Druckluftdüsen versehen werden, welche dann z.B. über entsprechende Pneumatikventile angesteuert werden können.

MTF Technik - Spezielle Gurttypen

Spezielle Gurttypen

Es gibt viele unterschiedliche Gurttypen aus unterschiedlichen Materialien, wie z.B. PU, PVC, Filz, Polyestergewebe, Silikon, Gummi, etc. Die Förderbandgurte sind dabei in den meisten Fällen aus unterschiedlichen Schichten aufgebaut und verfügen darüber hinaus oftmals über ein Gewebe, welches als Trägerschicht dient.

Die meisten der o.a. Gurtmaterialien sind Isolatoren (z.B. PU, PVC), d.h. sie leiten etwaige statische Aufladungen nicht ab. Dennoch werden viele Gurte von den Herstellern als „antistatisch“ bezeichnet. Dies bezieht sich jeweils auf die Laufseite des Gurtes, d.h. die Innenseite, welche Kontakt zum Förderband hat. „Antistatisch“ bedeutet in diesem Zusammenhang, dass die Laufseite des Gurtes z.B. mit elektrisch leitenden Fäden (i.d.R. Carbonfäden) ausgestattet ist und damit verhindert wird, dass der Gurt sich durch das Rutschen über den Bandkörper selbst auflädt. Etwaig entstehende Ladungen durch den Rutschprozess werden direkt über den Aluminiumrahmen des Förderbandes abgeleitet.

MTF Technik - Spezielle Gurttypen 1

Dies sagt aber nichts darüber aus, ob z.B. die Oberfläche des Gurtes, die so genannte Tragseite, durch die stetige Beaufschlagung mit elektrostatisch aufgeladenem Fördergut, sich auch mit der Zeit auflädt. Dies kann dazu führen, dass Teile dann am Gurt „kleben“.

Für spezielle Anwendungen, wie z.B. den Transport von hochempfindlichen Leiterkarten in der Elektroindustrie oder Förderbandanwendungen in explosionsgefährdeten Bereichen (ATEX) müssen deshalb teilweise noch höhere Ansprüche erfüllt werden. MTF Technik bietet hierfür z.B. den Gurt Nr. 44 an. Hierbei handelt es sich um eine Laufdecke, die gemäß Hersteller-Datenblatt einen Oberflächenwiderstand von weniger als 3 ∙ 108 Ω und einen Durchgangswiderstand von weniger als 1 ∙ 109 Ω besitzt. Nach EN 13463-1 kann davon ausgegangen werden, dass eine elektrostatische Aufladung vermieden wird, wenn der Oberflächenwiderstand kleiner bzw. gleich 1 ∙ 109 Ω ist.

Den Unterschied können wir z.B. schon mit einem Installationstester verdeutlichen. Auch wenn elektrostatische Aufladungen leicht mehrere zehntausend Volt betragen können, so zeigt schon ein Versuch mit einem Installationstester und einer Spannung von max. 500V deutliche Unterschiede. So haben wir z.B. die Oberfläche des MTF Gurts Nr. 44 und Gurt Nr. 45 gemessen. Bei Gurt Nr. 44 zeigt sich, dass bereits bei einer Prüfspannung von 116 Volt ein Messergebnis von 0,04 MΩ vorliegt. Bei Gurt Nr. 45 (Oberfläche PU) kann trotz einer maximalen Prüfspannung von 535V kein Widerstand gemessen werden, d.h. es handelt sich hier um einen Isolator. Auch wenn der Versuchsaufbau in dieser Form keiner Norm entspricht, so zeigt er dennoch sehr eindrucksvoll den Unterschied im Leitverhalten unterschiedlicher Gurtmaterialien.

MTF Technik - Zusätzliche Erdung

Zusätzliche Erdung

Die Geräte von MTF Technik verfügen i.d.R. grundsätzlich über eine normgerechte Erdung. Diese erfolgt in den meisten Fällen durch die elektrischen Anschlussleitungen und/oder über zusätzliche Erdungsfahnen. Bei besonderen Einsatzfällen, z.B. Transport sehr stark elektrostatisch aufgeladener Kunststoffteile, können zusätzliche Erdungen helfen, die Ladungen abzuleiten.

Um unerwünschte Ladungen von der Tragseite eines Gurtes abzugreifen, können z.B. elektrisch Leitfähige Bürsten eingesetzt werden, die am Bandeinlauf montiert werden. Diese nehmen eventuell auf dem Gurt sitzende Ladungen auf und führen sie ab, so dass ein „neutraler“ Gurt im Bereich der Teileaufgabe bereit steht. Mit jeder Umdrehung des Gurtes wird er dadurch wieder geerdet. Hierbei kommen z.B. Fasern aus Carbon oder Edelstahl zum Einsatz.

MTF Technik - Zusätzliche Erdung 1

Auch in Separiertrommeln kann es zu Problemen durch statisch aufgeladenes Separiergut kommen. Hier besteht die Gefahr, dass sich zum Beispiel die Ladungen auf die PVC-Rollen einer Rollensepariertrommel übertragen.

Neben dem Einsatz von Ionisationsstäben oberhalb der Separiertrommelkäfige (siehe oben), kann z.B. auch eine dünne, zusätzlich geerdete Edelstahlfolie auf den sich drehenden Trommelkäfig aufgelegt werden. Dies wird von MTF Technik optional als Aufsteckvorrichtung für das Untergestell angeboten und kann auch bei bestehenden Anlagen nachgerüstet werden. Die Edelstahlfolie streicht dann über den Trommelkäfig und leitet die Ladungen ab.

MTF Technik - Stahl-Scharnierplatten- bzw. Stahlgewebeförderbänder

Stahl-Scharnierplatten- bzw. Stahlgewebeförderbänder

Die Stahl-Scharnierplattenbändersowie die Stahl-Gewebeförderbänder von MTF Technik sind aufgrund ihrer elektrisch leitfähigen Eigenschaften perfekt geeignet, um statische Aufladungen an Bauteilen abzuführen. Die Scharnierplatten werden über den Kontakt zum Bandkörper und die Erdung des Antriebs entsprechend geerdet.

Allerdings sind hier die Kosten deutlich höher als bei einem Gurtförderband, so dass in der Praxis eher Gurtförderbänder mit entsprechender Ausstattung eingesetzt werden.