Our website uses cookies and similar technologies. If you click on "Accept", you allow us to store all types of cookies. You can adjust your personal settings by clicking on "Preferences". You can revoke or change your given consent at any time. For more information about our data processing please visit our Privacy Statement. If you have any further questions, please contact info@mtf-technik.de.

Preferences Accept

Please select your cookie settings

Typical Problems:

  • Hot parts have to be transported with a conveyor belt and therefore a robust running surface is needed

  • How to specifically cool down parts during conveying so that they can be further processed/packaged

Solutions from MTF Technik:

MTF Technik has a long experience in conveying tasks with hot parts. Depending on the task, the following solutions are recommended:

MTF Technik - Belt Types for High Temperatures

Large belt selection for temperatures up to max. 90°C

Belt Types for High Temperatures

In the plastic injection moulding sector, the part temperatures after demoulding are below 80°C for the most part. This temperature is completely unproblematic for almost all belt types. There is a large selection of different materials here (PVC, PU, felt, polyester, plush, rubber, silicone, etc.), which also meet almost all other requirements (e.g. FDA conformity, surface structure, suitability for use on angled conveyor belts, antistatic properties, oil resistance, etc.).

At temperatures of the parts above 80°C to 100°C, the selection of possible belts for the conveyor belt is already significantly limited. For example, the range of possible belts with FDA certification is reduced. The choice of belts for angled conveyor belts or the possibility of applying cleats or corrugated edges is then also very limited. Running surfaces with PVC or PU surfaces can then generally no longer be used.

In the case of angled conveyor belts or the need for cleats, the choice is then increasingly concentrated on polyester belts such as MTF Belt No. 12. This is very hard-wearing and can be used for a wide range of applications. Felt belts or, in some cases, rubber materials can also be an alternative, but are already clearly limited in terms of the width of their applications.

For continuous temperatures above 120°C to 130°C, silicone belts remain the main alternative. MTF Belt No. 22 (silicone, white) can be used for long-term temperatures up to 180°C. Due to its FDA approval, it is even suitable for medical applications. However, this belt cannot be used on angled conveyor belts and it is also not possible to apply driving cleats, etc.

MTF Technik - Belt Types for High Temperatures 1

Kevlar felt belt (6mm strong) for part temperatures up to 350°C

At even higher temperatures, such as those encountered in die casting, Kevlar felt belts can also be used as a special solution. These are endless woven running blankets that are suitable for contact temperatures of up to 350°C. However, this type of belt can also only be used in the die-casting industry. However, this type of belt can also only be mounted on straight conveyor belts and does not allow the application of carrier cleats, etc.

When specifying the temperature resistance of flexible belts, we are usually talking about continuous temperature resistance. This means, for example, that a belt with a temperature resistance of up to 80°C may be operated permanently in an 80°C oven.

If the temperature of the material being conveyed exceeds 80°C when it hits the belt, it depends to a large extent on the geometry and its thermal conductivity whether a problem can arise. If you imagine a thick-walled cube that lies flat on the belt, this has a completely different influence on the belt than an equally heavy part that, for example, is finely branched or has only punctual points of contact on the belt. In the case of the cube, the temperature of the part is likely to be completely transferred to the belt, whereas this is not the case with the part that rests on points.

In addition, the exposure time also plays a very important role. If, for example, parts are placed on a conveyor belt in order to cool down slowly, the heat transfer to the belt will be correspondingly high. If parts are transported on a short conveyor belt at high belt speed, significantly hotter parts can be transported than the temperature resistance of the belt indicates. During the short contact time, the belt does not heat up and can always cool down sufficiently.

MTF Technik - Steel Hinged Plate Conveyor

Steel hinged plates in various styles

Steel Hinged Plate Conveyor

Particularly in the die-casting sector, the combination of high temperatures and heavy mechanical stress results in requirements that can no longer be met by belt conveyors. Especially when ascending conveying distances require the use of carrier cleats, Steel Hinged Plate Conveyors are usually the best solution.

The steel hinged plates, which are chain-guided on both sides, have a continuous temperature resistance of 300°C and can thus be optimally used as a cooling section. The design of the steel hinged-plate conveyors has integrated spring tensioners that ensure that the tension of the chain is always maintained. In this way, temperature fluctuations and thus elongation effects can also be optimally compensated.

Hinged plates in mild steel and stainless steel as well as many different surfaces allow solutions for many different applications.

MTF Technik - Wire Belt Conveyor

Wire mesh conveyor belt for high-temperature application in metal processing

Wire Belt Conveyor

Steel Mesh Conveyors are particularly suitable for transporting hot parts when a strong flow of air is required in the conveyor section to cool down the components. The open structure of the steel mesh belts allows air to flow around the conveyed goods in the best possible way and thus cool them down.

This makes such conveyor belts particularly suitable for transporting hot hollow parts, which could not achieve any or sufficient ventilation of the inner structure on a smooth belt or even on steel hinged plates. Here, additional fans below and/or above the conveyor belt can provide additional cooling.
Steel mesh belts can be used for the highest temperature ranges. The contact temperatures of the conveyed material can exceed 1,000°C (only for steel mesh belts without chain guides). For such extreme temperatures, however, the application must be checked carefully in each individual case. Conveyor belt dimensions, belt load, function, etc. play a major role here.

At very high temperatures, the upper run is usually removed via a stainless steel perforated plate; at lower temperatures or with sufficient cooling possibilities, plastic glide bars (high-temperature plastics if required) can also be used.

MTF Technik - Water Conveyor Belt / Conditioning Conveyor Belt

Angled water conveyor belt

Water Conveyor Belt / Conditioning Conveyor Belt

Depending on the task, very hot parts can also be cooled in a liquid bath.

For this application, MTF Technik offers water conveyor belts in various designs. If the parts are heavier than water, these conveyor belts are usually designed in an angled form. For floating parts, a combination of two straight conveyor belts can also be used. This ensures that the parts are then also pressed under water for a definable time if required - this plays an essential role in so-called conditioning conveyor belts, for example. Here, in addition to cooling, a defined water absorption of the components is desired at the same time.

The water tank is often connected to the cooling circuit of a production machine so that the waste heat is dissipated accordingly and a constant cooling result is achieved. Whether such a solution can be considered often depends on the specific customer requirements or the material properties of the material to be conveyed.

MTF Technik - Conveyor Belt with Fan

Thermography of caps one minute after demoulding with fan (top) and without fan (bottom)

Conveyor Belt with Fan

Ventilators are an extremely effective and energy-efficient means of cooling parts. Especially in the production of mass-produced parts such as caps, etc., large quantities of parts are produced within very short cycle times. The parts are often still very warm and soft when they are removed from the mould. To prevent them from deforming under their own weight in the collection container, they must be cooled down quickly.

A fan which blows away the insulating "air cushion" around the parts during the transport process on the conveyor belt is the perfec solution here. The air movement results in a kind of "wind chill effect", which allows the parts to cool down much more quickly.

The result of the experiment pictured on the left is that with a standard room fan the part temperature dropped from 105°C to 70°C ( ΔT = 35 °C) one minute after demoulding, whereas the without wind chill effect the temperature only dropped by 14 °C within the same period.

MTF Technik - Conveyor Belt with Fan 1

Cooling behaviour of caps with and without fan

If these measured values are listed in a diagram, the difference becomes clear. Especially directly after demoulding, a fan has a very strong effect. For this reason, MTF Technik usually designs conveyor belts in such cases with on which fans are mounted as directly as possible at the belt infeed. This lowers the part temperature and protects the belt - so even with very hot parts, standard belts can often be used, as the high temperature only affects the running surface for a very short time.

MTF Technik - Conveyor Belt with Fan 2

Conveyor belt with cooling tunnel and two integrated axial fans

In the example left you see a belt conveyor with several fans integrated in the belt cover. The belt cover forms a kind of tunnel, which ensures that air flows around the parts over a longer distance and can thus dissipate its heat better.

MTF Technik - Air Conditioner / Heat Exchanger

Conveyor belt with attached air-water heat exchanger for parts cooling

Air Conditioner / Heat Exchanger

Similar to fans, but with controlled temperature control, additional air conditioning units or heat exchangers can shorten the cooling of the components. For this purpose, devices are coupled to the conveyor belt - usually via corresponding pipelines. The cold air is then blown under a belt cover. The heat exchangers can be connected to existing machine cooling circuits, for example, and thus use existing infrastructure.

Compared to fans, this solution has the significant advantage that the temperature of the blown-in air can be better controlled or even kept constant. With fans, only the ambient air is drawn in, i.e. the cooling result is also correspondingly dependent on the ambient temperature. This can lead to problems in summer, for example, in production halls that are not temperature-controlled. This is where air-conditioning units or heat exchangers come into their own.

Separate air-conditioning units (so-called spot coolers) have the disadvantage that, in addition to their cooling capacity, they produce a lot of waste heat. When this is then blown into the production hall, the temperature there rises accordingly and the air-conditioning unit has to work all the harder - there is then a danger of the unit icing up. It is therefore better if the waste heat can be discharged outside the production area.

Due to the relatively high costs of air-conditioning units and heat exchangers, MTF Technik usually recommends first carrying out tests with fans. These are significantly cheaper and often achieve almost equivalent results. Especially with thick-walled plastic parts, it must be taken into account that plastics are poor heat conductors. This means that the core temperature is not cooled down decisively even when cooled air is applied. Here it must be carefully checked whether the investment in an air conditioning unit or heat exchanger and, above all, the running energy costs are justified.

Unsere Website verwendet Cookies und ähnliche Technologien. Mit einem Klick auf „Zustimmen“ erlauben Sie uns alle Cookie-Arten zu speichern. Mit einem Klick auf „Einstellungen“ können Sie Cookies auf Ihre Bedürfnisse anpassen. Ihre erteilte Einwilligung können Sie jederzeit ändern. Weitere Informationen dazu finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung. Bei weiteren Fragen können Sie sich an info@mtf-technik.de wenden.

Einstellungen Zustimmen

Bitte wählen Sie Ihre Cookie-Einstellungen

Problemlösung: Hohe Temperaturen

Problemstellungen:

  • Heiße Teile müssen mit einem Förderband transportiert werden und daher wird eine robuste Laufdecke benötigt

  • Wie kann man Teile beim Fördern gezielt abkühlen, damit sie weiterverarbeitet/verpackt werden können

Problemlösungen von MTF Technik:

MTF Technik beschäftigt sich seit vielen Jahren mit dem Transport von heißen Teilen. Je nach Aufgabenstellung bieten sich folgende Lösungen an:

MTF Technik - Gurte für Hochtemperaturanwendungen

Gurte für Hochtemperaturanwendungen

Im Kunststoff-Spritzgussbereich liegen die Teiletemperaturen nach der Entformung zu großen Teilen unter 80°C. Diese Temperatur ist für nahezu alle Fördergurte vollkommen unproblematisch. Hier gibt es eine große Auswahl verschiedener Materialien (PVC, PU, Filz, Polyester, Plüsch, Gummi, Silikon, etc.), die auch nahezu alle sonstigen Anforderungen (z.B. FDA-Konformität, Oberflächenstruktur, Einsatzfähigkeit auf abgewinkelten Förderbändern, antistatische Eigenschaften, Ölbeständigkeit, etc.) erfüllen.

Bei Temperaturen der Teile oberhalb 80°C bis 100°C wird die Auswahl möglicher Gurte für das Förderband bereits deutlich eingeschränkt. So verringert sich beispielsweise das Spektrum möglicher Gurte mit FDA-Zertifikat. Auch die Auswahlmöglichkeiten von Gurten für abgewinkelte Förderbänder oder die Möglichkeit Mitnehmerstollen oder Wellkanten aufzubringen wird dann sehr eingegrenzt. Laufdecken mit Oberflächen aus PVC oder PU können dann in der Regel nicht mehr eingesetzt werden.

Bei abgewinkelten Förderbändern oder der Notwendigkeit von Mitnehmerstollen konzentriert sich die Auswahl dann immer mehr z.B. auf Polyestergurte wie der MTF- Gurt Nr. 12. Diese ist sehr strapazierfähig und kann sehr vielseitig eingesetzt werden. Auch Filzgurte oder in einigen Fällen auch Gummimaterialien können eine Alternative darstellen, sind aber hinsichtlich der Breite ihrer Einsatzfälle schon deutlich eingeschränkt.

Bei Dauertemperaturen oberhalb 120°C bis 130°C bleiben vor allen Dingen noch Silikongurte als Alternativen übrig. Der MTF-Gurt Nr. 22 (Silikon, weiß) kann für Langzeittemperaturen bis zu 180°C eingesetzt werden. Aufgrund seiner FDA-Zulassung ist er sogar für medizintechnische Anwendungen geeignet. Allerdings kann dieser Gurt nicht auf abgewinkelten Förderbändern eingesetzt werden und auch die Aufbringung von Mitnehmerstollen etc. ist nicht möglich.

MTF Technik - Gurte für Hochtemperaturanwendungen 1

Bei noch höheren Temperaturen, wie sie z.B. im Druckgussbereich vorkommen, können als Sonderlösung auch Kevlarfilzgurte eingesetzt werden. Hierbei handelt es sich um endlos gewebte Laufdecken, die für Kontakttemperaturen von bis zu 350°C geeignet sind. Diese Art Gurt kann aber ebenfalls nur auf geraden Förderbändern montiert werden und erlaubt keine Aufbringung von Mitnehmerstollen, etc.

Bei der Angabe von Temperaturbeständigkeiten von flexiblen Gurten handelt es sich in der Regel um Dauertemperatur-beständigkeiten. Das bedeutet, dass z.B. ein bis 80°C temperaturbeständiger Gurt in einem 80°C heißen Ofen dauerhaft betrieben werden darf.

Wenn die Teiletemperatur des Fördergutes beim Auftreffen auf den Gurt mehr als 80°C beträgt, so hängt es maßgeblich von der Geometrie sowie dessen Wärmeleitfähigkeit ab, ob es zu einem Problem kommen kann. Stellt man sich einen dickwandigen Würfel vor, der flächig auf dem Gurt aufliegt, so hat dies einen gänzlich anderen Einfluss auf den Gurt wie ein ebenso schweres Teil, welches sich z.B. fein verästelt oder nur punktuelle Auflagepunkte auf dem Gurt besitzt. Beim Würfel wird die Teiletemperatur voraussichtlich vollständig an den Gurt abgegeben, bei dem punktuell aufliegenden Teil nicht.

Darüber hinaus spielt auch die Einwirkdauer eine ganz wesentliche Rolle. Werden Teile z.B. auf einem Förderband abgelegt, um dort gezielt langsam abzukühlen, so wird auch hier der Wärmeübertrag auf den Gurt entsprechend groß sein. Wenn Teile auf einem kurzen Förderband mit hoher Bandgeschwindigkeit abtransportiert werden, so können auch deutliche heißere Teile befördert werden, als dies der Angabe der Temperaturbeständigkeit der Gurte entspricht. Während der kurzen Kontaktzeit heizt sich der Gurt dabei nicht auf und kann auch immer wieder ausreichend abkühlen.

MTF Technik - Stahlscharnierplattenband

Stahlscharnierplattenband

Gerade im Druckgussbereich ergeben sich aus der Kombination aus hohen Temperaturen und starker mechanischer Beanspruchung Anforderungen, die durch Gurtförderbänder nicht mehr erfüllt werden können. Insbesondere wenn ansteigende Förderstrecken den Einsatz von Mitnehmerstollen erforderlich machen, sind Stahl-Scharnierplattenbänder in der Regel die beste Lösung.

Die beidseitig kettengeführten Stahl-Scharnierplatten haben eine Dauertemperaturbeständigkeit von 300°C und können so optimal als Abkühlstrecke genutzt werden. Die Konstruktion der MTF Stahl-Scharnierplattenförderbänder verfügt über integrierte Federspanner, die dafür sorgen, dass die Spannung der Kette immer gewahrt bleibt. So können auch Temperaturschwankungen und damit Längendehnungseffekte optimal ausgeglichen werden.

Scharnierplatten in Normalstahl und Edelstahl sowie viele verschiedene Oberflächen ermöglichen Lösungen für viele unterschiedliche Anwendungsfälle.

MTF Technik - Stahlgewebeförderband

Stahlgewebeförderband

Insbesondere wenn eine starke Luftdurchströmung der Förderstrecke notwendig ist, um Bauteile abzukühlen, bieten sich die Stahlgewebeförderbänderzum Transport heißer Teile an. Die offene Struktur der Stahlgewebegurte ermöglicht, dass das Fördergut bestmöglich mit Luft umströmt und somit abgekühlt wird.

Damit eignen sich solche Drahtgurtförderbänder insbesondere auch für den Transport heißer Hohlkörperteile, die auf einem glatten Gurt oder auch auf Stahlscharnierplatten keine oder keine ausreichende Belüftung der inneren Struktur erzielen könnten. Hier können zusätzliche Ventilatoren unter- und/oder oberhalb des Förderbandes für zusätzliche Abkühlung sorgen.

Die Stahlgewebegurte können für höchste Temperaturbereiche eingesetzt werden. Die Kontakttemperaturen des Fördergutes können dabei bis über 1.000°C gehen (nur bei Stahlgewebegurten ohne Kettenführung). Bei solchen extremen Temperaturen muss allerdings im Einzelfall genau der Einsatzfall geprüft werden. Hier spielen Förderbandabmessung, Bandbelastung, Funktion, etc. eine große Rolle.

Bei sehr hohen Temperaturen erfolgt die Obertrumabtragung in der Regel über ein Edelstahl-Lochblech, bei niedrigeren Temperaturen bzw. bei ausreichender Abkühlmöglichkeit können auch Kunststoff-Gleitleisten (bei Bedarf Hochtemperatur-Kunststoffe) eingesetzt werden.

MTF Technik - Wasserförderband / Konditionierförderband

Wasserförderband / Konditionierförderband

In Abhängigkeit von der Aufgabenstellung können sehr heiße Teile auch in einem Flüssigkeitsbad abgekühlt/abgeschreckt werden.

Für diesen Anwendungsfall bietet MTF Technik Wasserförderbänder in unterschiedlichen Ausführungen an. Sind die Teile schwerer als Wasser, so sind diese Förderbänder in der Regel in abgewinkelter Form konstruiert. Bei schwimmenden Teilen kann auch eine Kombination aus zwei geraden Förderbändern eingesetzt werden. Dies sorgt dafür, dass die Teile dann bei Bedarf auch für eine definierbare Zeit unter Wasser gedrückt werden – dies spielt zum Beispiel bei sogenannten Konditionierförderbändern eine wesentliche Rolle. Hier wird neben der Abkühlung gleichzeitig auch eine definierte Wasseraufnahme der Bauteile gewünscht.

Der Wasserbehälter wird dabei oftmals an den Kühlkreislauf einer Produktionsmaschine angeschlossen, so dass die Abwärme entsprechend abgeführt wird und ein konstantes Abkühlergebnis erzielt wird. Ob eine solche Lösung in Betracht kommt, hängt oftmals auch von den speziellen Kundenanforderungen oder auch den Materialeigenschaften des Fördergutes ab.

MTF Technik - Lüfter am Förderband

Lüfter am Förderband

Ein extrem wirksames und energieeffizientes Mittel zur Teilekühlung sind Ventilatoren. Gerade bei der Produktion von Masseteilen wie z.B. Verschlusskappen, etc. werden innerhalb sehr kurzer Zykluszeiten große Teilemengen produziert. Die Teile sind bei der Entformung oftmals noch sehr warm und weich. Damit sie sich im Auffangbehälter nicht unter ihrem eigenen Gewicht verformen, müssen sie schnell abgekühlt werden.
Ventilatoren können die während des Transportvorgangs auf dem Förderband das isolierende „Luftpolster“ um die Teile herum einfach wegblasen. Aus der Luftbewegung ergibt sich eine Art „Windchill-Effekt“, der die Teile deutlich schneller abkühlen lässt als bei unbewegter Luft.
Im Versuch links ist erkennbar, dass bei Verwendung eines standardmäßigen Zimmerventilators die Teiletemperatur eine Minute nach der Entformung von 105°C auf 70°C gefallen ist (ΔT = 35 °C) während bei „Windstille“ die Temperatur lediglich um 14°C fällt.

MTF Technik - Lüfter am Förderband 1

Werden diese Messwerte in einem Diagramm aufgeführt, so zeigt sich der Unterschied deutlich. Insbesondere direkt nach der Entformung wirkt sich ein Ventilator sehr stark aus. Deshalb führt MTF Technik Förderbänder in solchen Fällen in der Regel mit Bandabdeckungen aus, auf denen Lüfter möglichst direkt am Bandeinlauf montiert werden. Dies senkt die Teiletemperatur und schont den Gurt – so können selbst bei sehr heißen Teilen oftmals standardmäßige Gurte eingesetzt werden, da die hohe Temperatur nur sehr kurzfristig auf die Laufdecke einwirkt.

MTF Technik - Lüfter am Förderband 2

Im Beispiel links sehen Sie ein Förderband mit mehreren Lüftern, die in der Bandabdeckung integriert werden. Die Bandabdeckung bildet dabei eine Art Tunnel, welcher dafür sorgt, dass die Teile über einen längeren Weg von Luft umströmt werden und somit ihre Wärme besser abgeben können.

MTF Technik - Klimageräte und Wärmetauscher

Klimageräte und Wärmetauscher

Ähnlich wie Lüfter, jedoch mit einer gesteuerten Temperaturführung können zusätzliche Klimageräte oder Wärmetauscher die Abkühlung der Bauteile verkürzen. Hierzu werden Geräte – in der Regel über entsprechende Rohrleitungen – mit dem Förderband gekoppelt. Die kalte Luft wird dann unter eine Bandabdeckung geblasen. Die Wärmetauscher können z.B. an vorhandene Maschinen-Kühlkreisläufe angeschlossen werden und so bestehende Infrastruktur nutzen.

Diese Lösung hat gegenüber Ventilatoren den wesentlichen Vorteil, dass die Temperatur der eingeblasenen Luft besser geregelt bzw. sogar konstant gehalten werden kann. Bei Lüftern wird nur die Umgebungsluft angesaugt, d.h. das Kühlergebnis ist auch entsprechend von der Umgebungstemperatur abhängig. Dies kann z.B. bei nicht temperaturgeführten Produktionshallen im Sommer zu Problemen führen. Hier spielen dann Klimageräte bzw. Wärmetauscher ihre Vorteile aus.

Separat stehende Klimageräte (so genannte Spot-Cooler) haben den Nachteil, dass sie neben der Kühlleistung ein Vielfaches als Abwärme produzieren. Wenn diese dann in die Produktionshalle geblasen wird, erhöht sich dort entsprechend die Temperatur und das Klimagerät muss umso stärker arbeiten – hier besteht dann die Gefahr der Gerätevereisung. Besser ist also, wenn die Abwärme außerhalb des Produktionsbereichs abgegeben werden kann.

Aufgrund der verhältnismäßig hohen Kosten der Klimageräte und Wärmetauscher empfiehlt MTF Technik in der Regel, zunächst Versuche mit Lüftern durchzuführen. Diese sind deutlich preisgünstiger und erzielen oftmals fast gleichwertige Ergebnisse. Gerade bei dickwandigen Kunststoffteilen muss berücksichtigt werden, dass die Kunststoffe schlechte Wärmeleiter sind. Das heißt, die Kerntemperatur wird selbst bei Beaufschlagung mit gekühlter Luft nicht entscheidend abgekühlt. Hier muss sorgfältig geprüft werden, ob die Investition in ein Klimagerät bzw. Wärmetauscher und vor allen Dingen auch die laufenden Energiekosten gerechtfertigt sind.